My new physical challenge- CrossFit

“If you always put limits on what you can do, physical or anything else, it’ll spread over into the rest of your life. It’ll spread into your work, into your morality, into your entire being. There are no limits. There are plateaus, but you must not stay there, you must go beyond them… A [wo]man must constantly exceed [her] level.” – Bruce Lee

I started this blog to catalog my triathlon and plant-based journeys, and my journey from undergrad into post graduate studies via some time in the mountains of Asheville. I’ve started my new mental challenge in my master’s program, learning everyday the best practices for creating public health interventions that will actually change people’s lives.

Upon moving for my grad school program I realized I needed a new physical challenge as well.

It isn’t that half ironman and shorter distance triathlons aren’t still a challenge, and I will still continue to train for them and do them. I just find them to be almost my normal now, and I needed a new physical challenge, something different. It doesn’t help that with classes, studying, and an internship, I have more time constraints on my training than I did with my more flexible and less demanding jobs of the past two years. I’m still running and biking, in fact I have a half marathon in a couple weeks and a 100k bike ride in this coming weekend, but recently I joined CrossFit Carrboro.

wpid-img_20140818_070700.jpg

I love walking into a gym and having my workout written on the board and a coach leading me in a warm up and correcting my lifts. Plus it’s nice to have teammates to shout encouragement or work with me during a workout. What I really love is that it is a new kind of challenge with new goals to set and attain.

A blogger I follow and really respect and who inspired me come up with my original “Impossible” list is Joel Runyon of the Impossible Blog. Right now he is on a quest to do 7 ultra marathons on 7 different continents to raise money for 7 schools in Guatemala (the 7-7-7 Project.) He just ran an ultra marathon in Patagonia and had this idea to share afterwards.

“It doesn’t matter where you’re at or what you’re capable of, as long as you’re pushing for something more. Accepting whatever your current limits are is not acceptable. You have to keep going – pushing yourself out to the razor edge of your limit (and then keep going).”

After two years of academic complacency, grad school is pushing me to my limits in a really good way. And after 5 years of competing in triathlons and endurance events, I decided to push myself to my physical limits with something new with CrossFit. Don’t get me wrong, races are still challenging and I can still push myself with longer distance races or trying for faster times, but I felt my body needed a bit of a change up, and the work outs and strength gains from CrossFit are doing just that.

In other aspects of my life I have also been kind of complacent. I haven’t been out of the country in over a year and a half even though I love international travel and pushing myself slightly out of my comfort zone. I am trying to figure out my next travel plans that will push me to a new limit, or to stretch out my comfort zone.

wpid-20140910_081119.jpg

I pushed myself to my limits with the box during box jumps… the box won.

 

What have you been complacent about recently? How you found the edge of your limits lately?

One response to “My new physical challenge- CrossFit

  1. Pingback: Life recap: an overview of year 25 and a look towards 26 | postgradjourney·

Leave a Reply

