Not Foolin’ Around, I’m Carolina Bound!

I’m happy to say that I have accepted an offer to pursue an MPH in Health Behavior at The Gillings School of Global Public Health at UNC Chapel Hill!

2014-03-21 10.34.09

I had a fantastic visit there a couple weekends ago and was impressed by the current students, prospective students, faculty, campus and the town (including neighboring Carrboro.) The research of students and professors was fascinating, the way the program is designed prepares students for jobs in the field of public health, and the students are happy! The campus/town is active, whether in social justice causes, athletics/Tar Heel fandom, or in promoting local restaurants and businesses. (I missed out on getting to be a college sports fan at my small undergrad campus, so being a Tar Heel fan should be fun!)

I even got to meet up with a random group for a 50 mile bike ride while I was in town, one of the many group rides that were meeting on a Saturday morning. Not to mention the current students I talked with who were full and half marathoners that made me think that training for endurance events and being a grad student full time will actually be possible!

It had everything I was looking for in a program and in a town where I could see myself living for at least a couple of years. (Plus, it’s only a few hours from Asheville if I feel homesick for the Blue Ridge Mountains.)

I couldn’t be happier with my choice, and neither could the dogs (or my parents!)

2014-03-23 16.42.05

2014-03-23 16.40.10-1

A little shout out, I am fundraising as a Solemate again for Girls on the Run, this time doing another 200+ mile relay called the Smoky Mountain Relay. Here is my fundraising page where you can learn more!

Here’s to the next stop on my journey!

One response to “Not Foolin’ Around, I’m Carolina Bound!

  1. Pingback: Life recap: an overview of year 25 and a look towards 26 | postgradjourney·

Leave a Reply

