Blue Ridge Relay 2013

Two weekends ago I completed my first relay endurance race, the Blue Ridge Relay with 10 incredible women! The Blue Ridge Relay is 208 gorgeous miles along and through the Blue Ridge Mountains from Grayson Highlands State Park in Virginia to downtown Asheville, NC.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been dealing with an injury – a strained (at one point probably pulled) femoris rectus muscle of my upper left quad. Well it definitely hurt during the race, bringing me to tears after my last leg on Saturday morning, but I got through my hardest leg, 7.5+ miles in the middle of the night on a mountain road surprisingly feeling really strong!

With the pain and the 1 hour and 15 minutes of sleep you would think I maybe didn’t have the best experience but I really did have a fantastic time! The best part about the relay was bonding with my teammates, some of whom I didn’t meet until the night before the relay as one of our vehicles couldn’t make it up the steep gravel road to the cabin we rented…

We laughed, we joked around, we shared stories, and we became sleep deprived, sore and delirious as the race wore on. In the plainest terms, we made memories- I’m thinking this is just the start of my relay endurance racing days, especially if future races involve any of these great ladies!

 

A blurry, reflective, pre-race early morning photo

A blurry, reflective, pre-race early morning photo

first morning sunrise

first morning sunrise

A very expensive gas station bottle of pepto bismol
A very expensive gas station bottle of pepto bismol
Starting my first leg!

Starting my first leg!

I made my friend take a good running picture of me :)

I made my friend take a good running picture of me 🙂

IMG_2895

IMG_2901

IMG_2910

After I've run all my legs!

After I’ve run all my legs!

Post race with the Prius drivers!

At the finish!
At the finish!

 

