Asheville triathlon and my last week with AmeriCorps

This is my last week as an AmeriCorps VISTA as my year with them expires on July 26th. While I am grateful to have had this opportunity this past year because it allowed me to move to and live in Asheville and provided some great experiences, I am also ready for it to end and to move on to another stage of my journey. I decided to stay in Asheville for another year before I move away for graduate school, my love for this town is stronger than my love for academia right now! Which brings me to the Asheville sprint triathlon this past weekend!

It has been almost a year since my last sprint triathlon and boy are they fun! I haven’t been training this summer like I had all throughout the spring for Ironman 70.3 Raleigh because my next big races are running races, so I’ve really been running and lifting weights and doing some short bike riding during my commute to work. Most of my time at the pool recently has been outdoors taking in the sun rather than swimming laps 🙂 But even though I had taken some time off of serious triathlon training, I knew I was still in shape enough to try to best my time from last year, which I did by 9 minutes, even with a flat tire near the end of the bike course!

iDaph Events put on another great race and I came in 3rd in my age group for the second year in a row (take away the flat tire and I might have had 2nd!) I’ll probably do another local sprint later this summer because they really are just a fun way to spend a Saturday or Sunday summer morning surrounded by some great people (shout out to the Asheville Triathlon Club members I hung out with after the race!)

I had almost forgotten how much fun a small, local and well sponsored triathlon can be! Just another reason I love Asheville!

 

20130722-151106.jpg

20130722-151115.jpg

Do you have a favorite local triathlon or road race you love to do every year?

Leave a Reply

