Planning my race schedule and where did June go?

I can’t believe June is almost over.

This year I had an interesting triathlon schedule, with my “A” race in early June. Whereas last summer my races built up to my “A” race in September, for the rest of this summer I am just doing a couple of sprints and Olympic distance events, trail runs, and bike rides for fun sprinkled throughout. This summer I will really be training for what is looking like a race intensive Fall.

Starting in September I will be doing a 9-woman team 200 mile relay race, the deceivingly difficult Asheville Citizen Times Half Marathon two weeks later, for sure an Olympic distance and possibly a half ironman distance race in October, and the Philadelphia Marathon in November. Most of these events are spaced about a month apart but coming up with the training plan that encompasses the needs of each individual event is something I’ve been spending a lot of time working on lately. I don’t want to burn out with training but at the same time I don’t want to be undertrained for any one event. This balancing act will keep me on task for quite a while!

Now that I have talked about the future, readers might be wondering what I have been up to since Ironman 70.3 Raleigh which was almost a month ago… A lot of really cool stuff, most of which is not triathlon or race related whatsoever!

Confession- I haven’t done a pool workout since Ironman 70.3 Raleigh, almost an entire month! But, I have been biking to and from work a lot and I have been running with my relay team! I have also been hitting the gym to lift weights and doing some consistent plyometric workouts.

I also happened to go to this great Beatles sing-along concert with 80,000 other people aka the Sir Paul McCartney performance at Bonnaroo! He was one of the many fantastic musical talents that I got to see while camping in a field in Tennessee with college friends. The highlights included David Byrne and St. Vincent, Tom Petty, Wilco, Glen Hansard, Bjork, Trombone Shorty and Orleans Avenue, and a new find Alanna Royale!

I was also able to meet with some incredible young Pakistani women who were in NC through the University of TN, UNCG and the State Department to play field hockey and learn about gender representation in sport! This was a pretty cool and unique opportunity that also let me hang out (and go on a run) with my cousin who lives nearby. If you have any interest in women’s development through sport then check out UNCG’s Program for the Advancement of Girls and Women in Sport and Physical Activity or UT’s Center for Sport, Peace and Society.

What does your race schedule look like? Do anything super cool in June? Hope everyone is having a fantastic summer!

20130628-172721.jpg

20130628-172734.jpg

Leave a Reply

